I don't mean to sound bias or one sided, but some Nigerians could just be hypocrites and so annoying. Yes
am talking about the current outburst by Nigerians concerning the removal of
oil subsidy.
When Jonathan did it no one said anything, He removed a percentage
of the fuel subsidy and foolishly raised the minimum wage. Yet we saw no result, as
the money from the percentage of fuel subsidy he removed was not used for us
and is still not accounted for. Also under his regime the funds in the nations excess crude
account vanished, yet no one went on strike. It was as if he blindfolded us. But
that’s past.
It was stated that Nigeria spends about $30billion annually
on fuel subsidy, which is enough to build over 15 standard refineries, yet we
have just 3 refineries that are not even up to standard, talk less of it functioning or operating at 40% capacity.
So if President Buhari has decided to remove
fuel subsidy, why can’t we use our common sense and understand that there is a
good reason behind this decision?
The Nigeria Labor Congress has decided to put the country at
a standstill by embarking on strike, is that the right thing to do at this
point where our country’s economy is dwindling?
Some say Buhari should increase the minimum wage and also
increase the salaries of workers like Goodluck did, I say "what
foolish talks"; when he increases the salary with no source of revenue or
any form of foreign exchange, they will still be the same people, who will say,
Buhari worsen the state at which the value of our currency is in.
We talk about inflation and the level at which our currency
has been devalued over the years, but its little things like this that causes
it.
When there is no source/means to generate revenue for the country, and our
currency is not enough to circulate locally talk more of globally, yet we spend more in paying salaries and
on projects.
Imagine a country spending more than it makes?
Obviously the deficit
has to be paid somehow. So we borrow, now we are in debt and also need to pay
our workers, the only way out is to print more/excess bills since the bills in
circulation are not enough. At this point our currency will be devalued
internationally so that other countries in the foreign market will not be cheated.
Now I ask: Should Buhari still increase salaries when we have
no means of generating more revenue?
He cannot increase salaries, and it only shows he is an intelligent leader and knows what he is doing. What he can do and wants to do
is to use this funds from the subsidy and invest it in other sectors of our nation’s
economy.
Simply: He wants to diversify
from oil and gas, hereby boosting our economic stands by generating more revenue
through exportation, employments, food (agriculture), and industrialization.
We voted for change, I voted for change, Nigeria voted for
change, so let’s give change a chance. Because if we constantly doubt every decision
Buhari takes, we will end up disrupting his plans for Nigeria.
His corruption agenda, we doubted.
His budget, we doubted.
Now its fuel subsidy and we are already trying to frustrate his
plans.
Like I said before; its time we TRUST him. Unlike our
previous democratic leaders, Buhari seems to have a genuine agenda for Nigeria.
So let’s support, trust and encourage him.
Enough with the Doubt!!!
Enough with the Hate!!!
We need more LOVE and TRUST!!!
The Real Nigeria!!!

No comments:
Post a Comment