Meanwhile, a lot of things and events have happened these past months. My favorite being the just concluded Rio2016 Olympic Games... Where The Giant of Africa(Nigeria) brought home just one medal, 'bronze to be specific'.
Now I'm back I think this is what I'm gonna start with cos I really do have plenty to say about this event.
Let me start by appreciating our Federal Government and Ministry of Sports for all they did. I was really impressed when I saw that Nigeria partook in so many events this year. Example, swimming, boat rowling etc. I say well-done...
But.......
Your good job ended up being a big mess, and what's more irritating is the fact that nothing is being done to clean it up.
After seeing the performance of our athletes it's only right that they have a follow up chat with them to know what can be done to improve our sporting industry. It's just common sense, 'seeing a problem and devicing a solution' so next time we can perform better.
USA won the highest amount of medals, is it that the Americans have two heads? Or we, Nigerians are not capable enough to be the best?
Definitely no, as so many countries including USA had Nigerian citizens(by blood) who represented them, many won medals ranging from gold to bronze.
Example:
- Courtney Okolo who won gold medal in the women 4*400m relay for USA..
- Foluke Akinradewo who won bronze in the women volleyball for USA.
- Morolake Akinosu who won gold for the women 4*100m relay for USA.
- Magaret Adeoye who won bronze medal in the women 4*400m relay for Great Britain.
- Anyika Onuora who won bronze medal in the women 4*400m relay for great Great Britain.
- Christine Ohuruogu who won bronze medal in the women 4*400m relay for Great Britain.
This are just a few names I managed to jot. But they were so much more Blood Nigerians out there reppin other countries. This is the trend happening everywhere, not just in sport but in all works of life. You see Nigerians doing so well out there but the ones here find it hard to attain the same success.
So do our leaders need a voodoo priest to tell them that there is something wrong and it needs to be fix?
If our leaders want our country to be better, then they should Sit Up or better still Step Down. Because if they continue at this pace we will lose many more intelligent minds and gifted people to other countries..
I used to wonder, 'What kind of Country this was'?
It's obvious that the problem is not Nigeria, instead it's the people running this great Nation.
A man had an accident while driving his car which had a bad tyre.
My question:- Do we blame The road or The car? Hell No..
We hold the driver responsible... Because the car is his responsibility, and as such he is supposed to check if everything is in order, if not fix it before driving it. Same implies to Nigeria.. Nigeria is not the issue, the problem is our drivers.
We can't blame Nigerians for representing other countries can we? No! Because if they were in Nigeria they probably would have never succeeded, cos their gifts/talents would have been history.....
Why I say so is because We don't have the basic facilities that can improve one's skills and talent, this is a major challenge and nothing is being done about it because our leaders are greedy, busy stealing the funds that can build these facilities. Now all our supposedly stars are languishing somewhere untapped and becoming corrupt day by day.... Yet we want corruption to end...
We have stars but we live in darkness due to our greedy and irresponsible drivers...
Will this circle of corruption ever end???
The Real Nigeria!!!

No comments:
Post a Comment