So the other day I was so bored and decided to go see a movie. For those in Calabar here in Nigeria know that a gate fee of 100 naira (about $50cent) is paid before entering Marina Resort.
As I was saying, I got the gate of the resort, queued up awaiting my turn, all of a sudden from no where a government registered car drove all the way from the back of the motor queue and drove right through into the complex with stopping or paying the said gate fee.
To my surprise the fee collectors at the gate cheered him instead of doing their jobs.
I was greatly shocked and dumbfounded at this show of lawlessness by the said man of power, also astonished at the stupidity and foolishness of the fee collectors.
It's so funny to see our leaders make and put rules/laws yet they break this rules, and they expect us the masses to abide to them.
Our President will say let's make Nigeria better, let's improve our economy, let's do all these by not importing goods, by not relying on foreign countries, but He who gave the order to stop our dependence on foreign countries, is the same person who traveled to a foreign country for medical checkup.
It doesn't make sense to me. I don't know if this act of going against your own words, this act of breaking your own rules, yet expect your followers to adhere to them is meaningful. Cos to me it's foolishness.
A government will say "this road is a one way drive, no opposite traffic," yet politicians break the road code and go scot free, the Road Safety Corps will do nothing, if possible they will arrest you for refusing to make way for the politicians motorcade who is breaking the law. But if a civilian does the same thing the politician did, then the same Road Safety Corps Officials will show you that they know their work. #hypocrisy #foolishness!!!
Police will set up check points but only check the vehicles of the masses. They don't check the vehicles of military and paramilitary personnel, they don't check the vehicles of politicians and government appointees. How does that make any sense? And they say their doing their jobs. What fucking job? That's just nonsense.
To me, the number one quality of a true leader is one who leads by example.
They tell us not to commit crimes yet they steal from us and when we steal to survive, we are made to face the law. They use our youths, our children for their personal vendettas, as thugs, killers etc, when we are caught, we are imprisoned and some even killed. Yet them that pushed us to this crimes are not termed as criminals. They always break the law and are allowed to evade the wrath of their crimes.
Our system is one built on lies and hypocrisy.
No Justice. No Transparency. No Rule of Law.
Cos a country where the rules are not kept by those who govern it, by those in power. Is a country without Rule of Law.
And as such is a chaotic place.
If we are not treated equals, then the vision of change for Nigeria is far from near.
As the masses are no longer simpletons.
We are Awake, Aware and Awaiting!!!
Like I said earlier; the number one quality of a true leader is one who leads by example. One who obeys every rule/law set in place. That's a true leader. And as Nigeria is concerned we don't have any true and devoted leader.
Change!!!
The Real Nigeria!!!

No comments:
Post a Comment